Nantwich Nursery
Tel: 01270 629 005


The Early Years Foundation Stage

The Early Years Foundation Stage is implemented throughout the nursery settings.  The Early Years Foundation Stage sets the standards that all Early Years providers must meet to ensure that children learn and develop well and are kept healthy and safe.  It promotes teaching and learning to ensure children’s school readiness and gives children the broad range of knowledge and skills that provide the right foundations for good future progress through school and life.

In 2012, the Framework was revised to make it clearer and easier to use.  New Framework has a greater emphasis on your role on helping your child develop.  Therefore, we provide many opportunities for parental involvement.

The Early Years Foundation Stage has seven areas of learning and these are divided into four specific and three prime areas.  The four themes that underpin all the guidance of the EYFS are as follows:

A Unique Child

Every child is a unique child who is constantly learning and can be resilient, capable, confident and self-assured.

Positive Relationships

Children learn to be strong and independent through positive relationships.

Enabling Environments

Children learn and develop well in enabling environments in which their experiences respond to their individual needs and there is a strong partnership between practitioners and parents/carers.

Learning and Development

Children develop and learn in different ways.  The Framework covers the education and care in early years’ provision including children with special educational needs and disabilities.  Practitioners teach children by ensuring challenging, playful opportunities across the prime and specific areas of learning and development.

For more information please visit the website